American Style Afternoon Tea at BRGR.CO

photo 2[1]

Walking past BRGR.CO on Wardour Street in Soho, there is no mistaking that this place will serve a really good, juicy, posh burger.  With its uncomplicated black and white facade, it is evident that simplicity and quality are key features of this restaurant.  Being major fans of Gourmet Burger Kitchen, my boyfriend and I put it on our list of ‘must-try’ burger bars, but when I found out that it did an American themed burger-style afternoon tea, and at only £17 including two drinks, BRGR.CO jumped straight to the top of the list!

I have to say that this is one of the most satisfying afternoon teas on the savoury front.  Burgers are always a winner in my eyes, and these burgers were particularly good!  The buns were fresh and sturdy, holding in and soaking up those beautiful juices that oozed out of the burgers with every bite.  And they were not skimpy on any of the fillings!  From left to right, the first burger is a mini version of the Butcher’s Cut with cheddar cheese.  It was tender, tasty, and tantalising, and my first mouthful convinced me that this was somewhere I would definitely like to return!  Surprisingly, the Chicken Ceasar burger was my favourite.  The chicken was so succulent with a beautiful BBQ grilled flavour to it.  It literally melted in your mouth and unfortunately was gone in seconds!  The third burger was also very special and something that I would not expect from a classic burger joint.  The Lobster Blat Slider was absolutely wonderful: full of flavour, soft, creamy, and adding a completely new and different flavour dimension to the whole meal.  It made it feel rather special!  And having a mini portion of chips was definitely a major benefit for my boyfriend, as he didn’t risk losing half of his portion to me!

Inevitably, the burger half of the afternoon tea was going to be better than the sweets, given the name and specialities of the restaurant.  However, it was only the doughnut that was slightly disappointing.  Unfortunately, the doughnut was so chewy that it pretty much gave me jaw ache by the time I had chewed through its thick, doughy centre; it was a far cry from the soft, fluffy, but slightly stodgy doughnuts that I am used to from the farmer’s market and I was disappointed that I didn’t taste the salted caramel that the menu had promised.  However, the other three desserts were complete winners!  The vanilla milkshake was hands down the best milkshake I have ever had.  I am SO excited about returning, simply for the milkshake (and I don’t even like milk)!  The mini chocolate brownie was also beautifully rich and chocolatey.  I fell in love.  It was perfect!  The mini white chocolate and strawberry cheesecake was also perfectly delectable, with its smooth strawberry topping, light creamy filling, and crumbly biscuit base.

All in all, it was an extremely satisfying and filling meal that I would happily order again and again, especially for the price and the quality of the burgers, milkshake and brownie.  It also comes with two drinks: one is a beautiful homemade pomegranate and mint infused ice tea; the other was a glass of San Marco Prosecco (a raspberry and cranberry concoction).  Again, this made the meal feel a little bit more special than your average meal at a good burger restaurant, and for the same sort of price you would normally pay for a two-course meal and a couple of drinks.  I’m super greedy and can’t say no to something I normally love, so I also ordered a homemade lemonade, which was sweet and tangy at the same time and completely and utterly delicious.

The quality of the burgers, chips, drinks, and the brownie thoroughly impressed me at this small independent burger bar and I genuinely cannot wait for my next hangover, where I will enjoy tucking into a large succulent burger, a bag of chips (full-sized portions of chips come in a cute little brown paper bag!), a large vanilla milkshake, and a large slice of chocolate heaven in the shape of a brownie!  This is an excellent restaurant, whether you want something a bit more special, or a general catch-up over a burger with friends.  I can assure you that vowels are the ONLY thing that BRGR.CO is lacking when it comes to good food, good service and honest burgers!

IMG_1567

Leave a Reply

